Universitetet i Oslo

The Universitetet i Oslo is the oldest, largest and most prestigious University in Norway. It was founded in 1811 as Royal Frederick University (Det Kongelige Frederiks Universitet). The University was originally named after King Frederick of Denmark and Norway and it only received its current name in 1939. Until its founding, the University of Copenhagen was the only University of Denmark-Norway. After the dissolution of the Dano-Norwegian union in 1814, close academic ties between the countries have been maintained. The University of Oslo was the only University in Norway until 1946 and therefore it was often informally referred to as "The University".

The University has faculties of Theology, Law, Medicine, Humanities, Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Dentistry, Social Sciences and Education. The Faculty of Law is still located at the historic campus site on Karl Johans gate, in the vicinity of the Royal Palace, the National Theatre and the Parliament while many of the other faculties are located at a modern campus area of Blindern, built in the 1930s. The University has around 27,000 students and employs about 4,600 people. It is considered one of the leading Universities of Scandinavia. Consequently it is ranked amongst the world's top Universities. In 2007 the University of Oslo was ranked as the best University in Norway, the 19th best in Europe and 69th best in the world in the Academic Ranking of World Universities. The University of Oslo is home to five Nobel Prize winners and one of the Nobel Prizes. The Nobel Peace Prize is itself awarded in the city of Oslo close to the Faculty of Law.

Senter for rettsinformatikk - NRCCL

As IRI's counterpart in Norway, The Norwegian Research Center for Computers and Law (Senter for rettsinformatikk or NRCCL) at the Universitetet i Oslo offers and coordinates the LL.M. degree programme in Information and Communication Technology Law and will host Eulisp students during their studies in Norway. It is the second-oldest academic institution in the world working specifically with the interrelationship of law and information / communication technology. It was founded by Professor Knut S. Selmer and Professor Jon Bing. In 2001, Professor Olav Torvund became Chair of the NRCCL. Today, the NRCCL is one of the world´s leading institutions in the field of information/communication technology law. Its main areas of research are media law and Internet governance, legal technology, electronic commerce, data protection and e-Government. Norwegian language classes will be offered and students will be guaranteed a room in student accommodation upon application.